LADIES EUROPEAN TOUR   |   SOLHEIM CUP EUROPE
LETAS Social  LETAS Facebook  LETAS Twitter   LETAS YouTube   LETAS Social   LETAS Instagram   Contact LETAS
LET Access Series
Getting to Know Olafia Kristinsdottir
 Print

Iceland’s Olafia Thorunn Kristinsdottir is 22 years old and graduated from Wake Forest University in 2014, majoring in Economics and minoring in Entrepreneurship.

Kristinsdottir is a two-time Dean's list and four-time Academic All-ACC team member. She is also the 2011 Icelandic Champion, 2014 Icelandic Match Play Champion and made it as an individual to the NCAA's in 2013.

Describe yourself in three words! Family person, silly and chill.

What do you consider your worst and best quality? My worst quality is probably that I'm not organised enough and forget things a lot. My best quality is being able to stay pretty calm in tough situations.

What do you think about your result in Switzerland? I'm happy with my result in Switzerland. I didn't expect it at all, I was sick one day before the tournament so it lowered my expectations a lot, which probably only did good.

Is this your best result as a professional? Yes, it's only my fourth appearance as a professional. In my first professional event I shot -1 total. Now it was -5 total and shooting 66(-6) one of the days, which is also my best round ever in a tournament.

What is the secret of this result? I think the secret was my mental approach. Recently I've been reading a few mental books that have helped a lot.

What are your goals for the 2015 season? Where will you play next? My goal is to be top 5 in the ranking on LETAS and make it that way to the LET. I have tournaments coming up in Sweden and Norway.

LETAS is a road to the LET or to LPGA? First I want to get to the LET and later to the LPGA.

Golf as profession or as hobby? Golf is my profession.

Where do you see yourself in the next five years? In 5 years I want to be playing on the LPGA and living somewhere cool in America.

What’s the best part of your game? What’s your favourite club in the bag? The best part of my game is my irons, and recently it has also been my putting. My favourite club is my putter, Scotty Cameron, it's just so pretty!

What do you have to improve? I have to improve my drives and get touch for my chipping again.

What is your favourite shot? My favourite shot is probably a 95 meter pitch with my pitching wedge. It always keeps super straight and gets really close to the hole.

Where do you live now? I live in Neuhaeusel, Germany. I have better weather here and better courses, so it's better for my golf.

Are there golf courses in Iceland? There are plenty of courses in Iceland, I think 65 courses.

Speak about golf in your country? Golf in my country is like a roller coaster. The weather is always changing. It can be super windy and also really cold, quite challenging!

What do you do when you don't play golf? If I'm in Iceland and not playing golf I'm 100% playing with my nieces and nephews! I love being with them!! If I'm in Germany I'm probably baking or spending time with my boyfriend.

If you weren't a professional golf, what you would have been? I would have a really creative and fun job!

WPGA International Challenge
WPGA International Challenge
Stoke by Nayland Hotel Golf & Spa, Stoke By Nayland, United Kingdom
28/09/17 - 30/09/17
days
hours
mins
secs
Draw/Tee Times ladies European Tour Tournament
LETAS Media Guide
Sign up for the LETAS
Newsletter
PLAYERS BLOG Log In
MEMBER'S AREA Log In
ABOUT LETAS MEDIA GUIDE PRIVACY POLICY SITEMAP CONTACT LETAS
Admin LETAS © LET ACCESS SERIES THRAX DESIGN Thrax Design