LETAS Social  LETAS Facebook  LETAS Twitter   LETAS YouTube   LETAS Social   LETAS Instagram   Contact LETAS
LET Access Series
Getting to Know Emilie Alonso

France’s Emilie Alonso is currently lying in 12th place on the LETAS Order of Merit, with her best finish this season a tie for 3rd place at the Ribeira Sacra Patrimonio de la Humanidad International Ladies Open in Spain. Emilie turned professional at the start of 2016 after a successful amateur career.  We get to know Emilie with a few quick questions.

Do you have a nickname your friends refer to you by? If so what is it?

Yes I do, they call me "Mimi"

If you were stranded on a desert island, what three items would you take with you?

A knife to cut whatever food I find, a tent to sleep in and a boat to leave when I’ve had enough!!

If you could have an unlimited storage of one thing, what would it be?

I am an ice cream lover so I would choose Nutella or praline ice cream!

What is your favourite activity you do when you want to relax?

I love watching Netflix to relax!

How do you spend your time in the airports?

Depends how long the layover is. I usually walk around and look at what shops have, listen to music, call my boyfriend, watch Netflix and answer emails if we have internet.

What's the best piece of advice you have ever received?

'Stay calm! Being angry does not take you anywhere and does not bring you anything good.'

What is the weirdest thing you have ever eaten?

Aligator in Florida!

If you had one word to describe yourself, what would it be?


Do you supports a sports team? if yes who, and what sport?

The ASU Women's Golf Team and the European Team for the Ryder and Solheim Cup. Also, I cheer on the French team when there are tennis tournaments.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be?

I would like to travel the world!! I love learning about different cultures and languages! I went to Hawaii when I was at ASU so I would like to visit Tahiti, Bora Bora, the Maldives etc.

What advice would you give to aspiring amateurs looking to turn professional?

I would say first to be patient, learn about yourself (what works and what does not work for you) and learn how to manage your emotions under pressure from being stressed to happy, angry to neutral etc.

Do you like cooking? If yes, what do you like / prefer to cook when you are at home with friends?

I am a food lover! I cook crepes really well! It is easy and fast to cook and very convenient to make because you can put eggs, ham, cheese but also Nutella and sugar in it.

If you could have one celebrity follower on twitter who would it be?

Shemar Franklin Moore, he is in Criminal Minds.

Tell us something you hate doing?

I hate cleaning dishes!

Where do you see yourself in the next five years?

In five years, I want to have a stable status on tour, winning tournaments and getting ready for the 2021 Solheim Cup!

What has been you biggest golfing achievement?

To add my name on the European Team of the 2011 PING Junior Solheim Cup!

What is your favourite golf course to play and why?

The Evian Championship! I started there and I love to go back and compete over there! I think it's a great course with lots of challenges and it requires all the golf skills to play well.

Do you have any superstitions before playing golf?

No I do not have any but I like to follow the same routine before playing a round of golf in tournaments.

Age you started playing golf? How did you get involved in golf?

I discovered the beautiful golf course of Evian when I was nine years old. I was born into a classical music family and at that young age, I decided to stop learning classical music to devote myself entirely to golf.

Your lowest ever round of golf? Where and when?

I shot -7 at Rennes Saint Jacques in 2007 during the Orangina Ball Tournament

What’s your favorite club in your bag?

My favorite club is my putter!

What’s in your golf bag apart from clubs and golf balls?....

I have lots of food, different Sharpie pens to mark my balls with different colours and sometimes in tournaments I bring a little hula minion that my boyfriend got me to wish me luck!

If you could learn any language fluently, what would it be?

I speak French, English and Spanish however, if I could add Chines Mandarin, I would be happy to speak it!

What were your first set of golf clubs?

If I am not mistaken it was a USA Kids set of golf clubs, I had SW 9-7-5-3 wood, Driver and Putter

Your team would be composed of...

Golf coach - Roger Damiano

Manager - Mia Alonso

Fitness trainer - David Bodrier

Mental Coach -  Remi Furucz

GolfUppsala Open 2020
GolfUppsala Open 2020
GolfUppsala Söderby GC, Uppsala, Sweden
23/07/20 - 25/07/20
Rolex Rankings
Rank Player Country
1 Jin Young Ko KOR
2 Nelly Korda USA
3 Sung Hyun Park KOR
4 Nasa Hataoka JPN
5 Danielle Kang USA
6 Sei Young Kim KOR
7 Brooke M. Henderson CAN
8 Minjee Lee AUS
9 Lexi Thompson USA
10 Jeong Eun Lee6 KOR
2020 Olympic Rankings Olympic Rankings
LETAS Media Guide
Sign up for the LETAS