Getting To Know Valdis Thora Jonsdottir

Getting to know 24-year-old Valdis Thora Jonsdottir from Akranes in Iceland.

                                                          Valdis Thora Jonsdottir

Interview with Valdis Thora Jonsdottir

Getting to know 24-year-old Valdis Thora Jonsdottir from Akranes in Iceland.

When did you start golf?

I played my first tournament when I was eight with my grandma but I didn’t start practising for real until I was 13. I was seven or eight when I first picked up a club and my parents dragged me out.

Did you attend college in the USA?

I played for Texas State University and graduated in August and turned pro in September.

Did you play on the LETAS in 2013?

No, Switzerland 2014 was my first event. The organisation was great.

What do you hope to achieve this year?

I want to be placed in the top 30 at the end of the season so that I can qualify for the second stage of qualifying school. I just want to make the cuts and taking it tournament by tournament.

What is your best achievement so far?

I did play in the Italian Open on the Ladies European Tour in 2009 and I liked that. I had an invite, which was nice. My clubs didn’t arrive so I had to play with a different set of clubs but it was a fun experience.

I won the Icelandic Ladies’ Strokeplay Championship in 2009 and 2010. I won the Matchplay in 2010 and a college tournament in 2012 individually. My team won a bunch of college tournaments that I was participating in.

Who encouraged you to play golf?

My family got me started and helped me a lot to go everywhere and spend time at the golf course. I have two brothers and one sister and they are all really good caddies for me!

What have you been focusing on?

My short game was lacking, so I’ve been working on that.

How popular is golf in Iceland?

It’s getting more popular. We had two girls on tour, Tina and earlier Olof Jonsdottir, who had her LET card but then had three children so she doesn’t play anymore. I play at Leynir Golf Club, with only 400 people. We only have amateur events but no professional ones. We have some challenging golf courses there. The weather is going to be challenging but they are nice in the summer. You can play for around five months from May to September. I have spent four years in the States. The last three weeks I’ve been in Spain training but from January to March I was playing inside, hitting golf balls into a wall.

What would you like to achieve?

I just want to be a good role model for younger girls and show them there is the chance to fulfil your dreams as a professional. Living in Iceland, it seems so far away, but it’s not that far away at all!


Article from LET Access Series:
Published: 12/06/2014

© 2017 LET Access Series